Promotion and Relegation Guidelines – 2020/21 Season

It is pretty much the same as last year in terms of Promotion and Relegation guidelines for the 2020/21 Season, with just a slight change in relegation from Step 2.

Here is a summary of the Promotion and Relegation situation across the National League System.

Step 1 (National League)

2 promoted – Champions plus 1 via play-offs

Bottom 4 relegated.

Step 2 (National League South)

2 promoted from each division – Champions plus 1 via  6 team play-offs

Bottom side relegated from each division plus the worst ‘2nd from bottom side’ from the two Divisions, decided on PPG.

Step 3 (Isthmian Premier)

2 promoted from each division – Champions plus 1 via 4 team play-offs

Bottom 2 relegated from each division, along with 2 third bottom clubs on PPG

Bottom two sides from each division will be relegated to Step 4. Another two “third bottom” clubs will be relegated on a PPG basis. If there are any reprieves available then one of the relegated PPG sides will get that reprieve. The bottom club of each division will not be eligible for a reprieve.

Step 4 (Isthmian South East)

2 promoted from each Division – Champions plus 1 via 4 team play-offs

At Step 4, the bottom side will go into a playoff with against a Step 5 side. The match will be hosted by the Step 4 side and the winner will play at Step 4 the following season with the loser playing at Step 5.

Step 5 (SCEFL Premier)

At Step 5, due to the expansion of Step 4 in 2021/2022, more sides than usual will promoted. Every champion will go up. In the North West Counties, Northern League and Northern Counties East, the top 3 sides will be promoted. In the other 11 divisions, the four runners up with the best PPG will be promoted. The other seven runners up will playoff against the seven bottom sides at Step 4 to see who will play at Step 4 the following season.

The bottom side from each of the fourteen divisions will be ranked on a PPG basis. The two sides with the best PPG will be reprieved, the other 12 will be relegated.

Step 6 (SCEFL First)

The top four teams from each division will be promoted, with the exception of the SWP division which will promote two sides from each division.

At Step 6, the bottom two sides are liable to relegation to a Feeder League. If any reprieves are available then the side with the best PPG will be reprieved.

Feeder Leagues

The top eligible team will be promoted, as long as they finish in the top 5. Only 1 promoted team are allowed per League.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); P