National LeaguesNews

National League Clubs voting on PPG finish

Following the National League meeting today their clubs will now be voting on a proposal to end the season on a Points Per Game format.

This would see Barrow promoted into the Football League as Champions, with a 6 team play-off deciding the second promoted team.

Harrogate Town, Notts County, Yeovil Town, Boreham Wood, FC Halifax Town and Barnet would make up that half dozen.

The play-off games will take place between 18th and 31st July.

Details on the potential National League playoffs:

– Clubs won’t be sanctioned if they decline to participate

– Matches at clubs’ grounds (with the final at a neutral venue)

– Games behind closed doors & live on BT Sport

– Matches to start by 18th July & finish by 31st July

The proposal from the National League would also see Chorley as the only side relegated from Step One, with them being replaced by the winners of the National League North and South Divisions, which would also be determined by PPG.

Kings Lynn Town and Wealdstone would benefit from that decision, with no other side getting promoted with them as play-off games cannot take place at that level, as Step 2 football is not classed as an elite sport.

The Clubs will now digest this preferred proposal before returning their votes by Monday.

A final decision will then be retified by the FA Council and confirmed early next week.

The National League have also confirmed that they are hoping for a September start to next season, likely with concessions to be made.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); P