National LeaguesNews

National League Clubs vote for PPG decision

Barrow have been promoted back to the English Football League after 48 years away following a vote by National League clubs to determine the season on a points-per-game basis.

The Cumbrian side were four points clear when the season was suspended.

The vote also means King’s Lynn Town and Wealdstone will be promoted as champions of National League North and South respectively.

But the decision is still subject to final ratification by the FA Council.

After football was suspended by the coronavirus pandemic in March, National League clubs voted to end the regular season the following month.

The resolution to finish the campaign on an unweighted points-per-game basis received majority support from sides in all three divisions of the National League in a vote on Wednesday.

Play-offs in all three divisions will now proceed with the clubs that qualify, subject to competition rules and government guidance on the phased return of elite sport.

There will be no relegation from National League North and National League South this season, following the Football Association’s decision in March to null and void the campaign from steps three to seven of the non-league pyramid.

The number of clubs relegated from the National League will be determined to keep a 24-team league for 2020-21 following relegation from and promotion to League Two, and further promotion from National League North and South should the play-offs go ahead.

However, having finished bottom of the National League this season, Chorley will be relegated to National League North.

Just one club is expected to drop down from the EFL following the demise of Bury earlier this season.

Stevenage are currently bottom of League Two but could be reprieved with Macclesfield Town waiting to hear the outcome of an EFL misconduct charge.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); P